Best eSIM for Japan: Which Provider Uses Which Network?
Search for the best eSIM for Japan and you get price tables. 1 GB, 5 GB, 10 GB, cost per gigabyte, buy button. The one question that actually decides whether you have full bars or a dead phone somewhere in Tohoku sits on almost none of those pages: which Japanese network does the eSIM actually run on?
Japan has four mobile networks. NTT docomo, SoftBank, au (KDDI) and Rakuten Mobile. They don't differ in shades. One reaches further into the country than the rest, another is meaningfully faster on average, and most travel eSIMs sell you access to exactly two of the four. Which two? Rarely stated on the product page.
I clicked through seven provider sites and a few dozen reviews for this piece, trying to pin down a network for each brand. For two of them I failed. That belongs in the table too, I think, instead of being quietly dropped.
Some context on why this affects so many people right now. Japan welcomed a record 42.7 million international visitors in 2025, per preliminary JNTO data reported by Nippon.com in January 2026. That is a very large pile of people all scanning a QR code on final approach.
Japan's four networks and what each one is good at
Start with the networks, not the brands. A travel eSIM doesn't build anything. It buys roaming from Japanese carriers. Your signal in a valley in Nagano hangs off a tower owned by docomo, au, SoftBank or Rakuten, not off the logo on your receipt.
According to Opensignal's April 2026 Japan report, NTT docomo wins the Coverage Experience award outright with a score of 9.1/10 (retrieved August 2026). Opensignal hands out that award, not us. But it's the best documented signal that docomo still has something where the others give up.
Speed flips the picture. Ookla's Q3 2025 Speedtest Intelligence data, reported by TelecomLead in December 2025, put SoftBank's overall download speed at 62.05 Mbps, the fastest of Japan's four carriers. In that same measurement docomo comes last.
Contradictory? Not really. Reach and speed are two different things, and Japan shows that off nicely.
| Network | Subscribers (2025) | Overall download (Ookla, Q3 2025) | 5G availability (Q3 2025) | What it's known for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NTT docomo | 91M+, 40.6% market share | 50.50 Mbps | 38.4% | Widest geographic and indoor coverage |
| au (KDDI) | around 60M, 30.6% | 57.85 Mbps | around 32.4% | The middle road, decent at both |
| SoftBank | roughly 40 to 45M | 62.05 Mbps | 26.5% | Fastest median speeds |
| Rakuten Mobile | 9M | 53.54 Mbps | not broken out in this source | Newest network, thinnest footprint |
Subscriber figures come from TelecomLead's Japan Telecom Market 2025 analysis (published November 2025), the speed and 5G numbers from the Ookla write-up above. For SoftBank that source gives only a subscriber range and no percentage, so there isn't one here either.
One figure is missing from the table because it's equally boring for all four: 4G availability sits above 97% on every one of these networks. Meaning wherever there is coverage at all, it's usually LTE. The open question is how often "at all" applies.
And 5G? Overrated, honestly. docomo led 5G availability at 38.4% in Q3 2025, roughly six points ahead of au, while SoftBank sat at 26.5% in the same Ookla data despite posting the fastest median speeds. None of those numbers is anywhere near blanket coverage. 5G in Japan is dense in Tokyo and Osaka and thin in the countryside. For your trip, 4G reach matters more than a 5G icon in the status bar.
Best eSIM for Japan: which provider runs on which network
This is the part I couldn't find in a single page ranking for this topic. One site names exactly one mapping and stops there. So, a table.
Every row carries an evidence tier. That matters more than it looks, because "the provider says so itself" and "a review blog claims it" are two different grades of knowledge:
provider-documented: stated on the provider's own product or network page
third-party reported: stated by independent reviews or comparison sites, not by the provider
not disclosed: no source at all, provider or otherwise, names a specific carrier
| Provider | Network(s) in Japan | Evidence |
|---|---|---|
| eSIM FOX | NTT docomo + SoftBank, au explicitly excluded | provider-documented (product page, retrieved 10 August 2026) |
| Ubigi | docomo as the base plus au (KDDI), automatic switching | partly provider, partly third-party |
| Airalo | au (KDDI) + SoftBank, no docomo | third-party reported |
| Holafly | au (KDDI) + SoftBank, no docomo | provider page plus third parties |
| Nomad | au (KDDI) + SoftBank with automatic switching | provider-documented |
| aloSIM | au (KDDI) only | provider-documented |
| Saily | sources contradict each other: SoftBank alone, au plus SoftBank, or docomo | third-party reported, and the reports disagree |
| Yesim | not disclosed, the site only promises the "best available network" | no source names a carrier |
Look at the middle column again. Notice anything?
au plus SoftBank is the default combination in the travel eSIM market. Four of the eight rows look like that, and that pairing is precisely the one that skips the network winning Opensignal's coverage category. Only two providers in this research include docomo at all. That's the real story in this table, and it has very little to do with price.
About Saily and Yesim. I'd have liked to write a clean answer there. For Saily, independent reports claim three different things, and its own Japan page wasn't reachable during research. For Yesim, nobody names a carrier, Yesim included. So I'm not guessing. A guessed network in a table is worse than an honest gap, because later on you can't tell it apart from a fact.
eSIM FOX: docomo and SoftBank, but no au
Of the providers above, eSIM FOX is the one we link as a partner here, and the network pairing is why it fits this article at all. The eSIM FOX Japan eSIM connects to the NTT Docomo and SoftBank networks, per its own product page (retrieved 10 August 2026), which pairs Japan's coverage leader with its speed leader. The device attaches to whichever of the two partner networks is stronger. That same page notes speed and coverage depend on location, device and network load, and that's a fair caveat to print.
What's also on that page and tends to vanish from comparisons: au (KDDI) is not included. So if you specifically want to ride au for some reason, this is the wrong product.
The price ladder, all read off the page on 10 August 2026 and marked with a 20% promotional discount that day:
| Data | Validity | List price | Price on 10 August 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | 7 days | €5.99 | €4.99 |
| 3 GB | 15 days | €14.99 | €11.99 |
| 5 GB | 30 days | €23.99 | €18.99 |
| 10 GB | 30 days | €43.99 | €34.99 |
Those are discounted prices from that one day, not permanent list prices. The page also has an Unlimited tab whose price I couldn't read off cleanly, so I'm not quoting one.
The card below shows the entry rung, meaning 1 GB for 7 days at €4.99. And because a small number tends to get mistaken for the whole tariff: for two weeks in Japan with maps, translation and a few uploaded photos, 1 GB is the wrong rung. Realistically you land on 5 GB at €18.99, or 10 GB at €34.99 if you navigate a lot and keep the hotspot running. That €4.99 buys a long weekend, not a trip.
Validity starts when the eSIM first attaches to a supported network rather than at purchase, so you can install it at home without burning days. Hotspot and tethering are allowed and not separately capped, there's no ID check, and top-ups work any time.
Who it isn't for, because that's part of the deal here: anyone who needs a Japanese phone number for restaurant bookings or SMS codes is badly served by a data-only eSIM, this one and every other in the table. Anyone hoping to spread their risk across all four networks won't get that from any of the eight. And if you're spending a week shuttling between Shibuya and Shinjuku, you honestly don't need docomo's reach and can take the cheapest au product going.
Affiliate link. Buying through it earns us a commission; the price stays the same for you.
Ubigi, Airalo, Holafly and the rest
Ubigi is the second provider with docomo behind it, and its reputation reflects that. Two comparison sites summarise traveller community sentiment as praising Ubigi's docomo-based Japan eSIM for stability and reach into rural and mountainous areas. That's secondhand sentiment, not a measurement, and I won't sell it to you as one. It does line up unusually well with what the Opensignal numbers say. If you read a Japan comparison that leaves Ubigi out entirely, you now know there's a hole in it.
Airalo is the budget default and, per consistent third-party reporting, runs on au and SoftBank. Fine for city trips. For the Japanese Alps it wouldn't be my first pick.
Holafly sells on unlimited data. What rarely gets said alongside: unlimited on a network that covers a given region poorly is still no signal. Third parties also report a hotspot cap of 500 MB per day, which is a real difference if you plan to feed a laptop.
Nomad markets automatic switching between au and SoftBank as a safety net. Reasonable argument, as long as you know both networks come from the same end of the coverage ranking. aloSIM goes all-in on au with no second network. Easiest to reason about, least room to manoeuvre.
Away from Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka
Almost every Japan comparison checks the same three cities and then declares "great everywhere". Very few people fly to Japan to stay inside Tokyo.
Four situations where network choice stops being a footnote:
- Rural prefectures. Geographic coverage carries here, and that's docomo's documented strength.
- Mountains and valleys. Radio and topography get along badly. The low band decides it, more on that in the device section.
- Shinkansen. Between tunnels, speed and constantly handing off cells, any connection will drop sometimes. No provider on earth changes that, and anyone promising unbroken signal at 280 km/h hasn't measured it.
- Subways. Decently built out underground on the big networks. But exactly where you badly need the transfer info, an offline map beats any tariff.
I'm deliberately leaving specific place names out. There's no solid, dated source saying "village X is a dead zone on provider Y", and I won't invent one just to make the paragraph land harder.
Your phone has to support the bands too
The part nearly everyone skips: the right network does nothing for you if your handset can't do its frequencies.
docomo's rural LTE coverage relies heavily on Band 19 (800 MHz), while au (KDDI) leans on Band 18/26, per carrier band references cross-checked August 2026. Those low bands are the ones that get through forest, walls and valleys. Not every phone sold outside Japan supports them. Current iPhones and the big Android flagships are usually fine, but a mid-range device from a regional model variant is where it gets dicey.
So dig out your handset's model number, look up its supported LTE bands, check for 19, 18 and 26. Five minutes before you book, and you'll know whether "runs on docomo" means anything for your device. It also explains why two people with the same eSIM standing in the same spot can have completely different experiences.
How much data, and what a data eSIM can't do
All eight providers above sell data-only eSIMs for Japan. No Japanese phone number, no SMS, no calls over the mobile network. For maps, translation, messaging and payment QR codes that's plenty. You'd only need a Japanese number in a few cases: phone reservations at restaurants, some delivery services, the occasional SMS verification from a Japanese service. Anyone who needs that needs a physical SIM or a voice product, not a travel eSIM.
On volume I'll keep it short, because I don't know your usage and nobody predicts it credibly. The providers' own tiers give a workable steer though: short trips typically land at 1 to 3 GB, two weeks with heavy navigation and the odd upload closer to 5 to 10 GB. Most providers let you top up, so starting small beats buying 20 GB you never touch.
The pure cost maths against your home plan is something we've already worked through end to end for a different destination, roaming rates included: eSIM for Thailand, provider and cost comparison. The logic transfers to Japan, only the numbers change.
Which eSIM suits which trip, and which it doesn't
No ranking theatre, just sorted by trip type.
City trip, Tokyo, Osaka, Kyoto, seven to ten days. Barely matters. All four networks are dense in the metros and SoftBank is fastest on average. Take the cheapest plan with enough data. Skip this one if you're slipping into the mountains for two days midway.
Round trip with a rural leg, hiking, smaller prefectures. Here docomo in the mix genuinely pays off, so eSIM FOX or Ubigi. Less ideal if cost per gigabyte outranks everything, because docomo-inclusive products are rarely the cheapest.
Working on the road with a laptop on the hotspot. Watch the tethering rules rather than the gigabyte count. A plan with uncapped tethering beats a bigger allowance with a 500 MB hotspot limit. Not for you if you're parked on hotel wifi anyway.
You want maximum transparency. Then Saily and Yesim drop out for this trip. Not because the products are bad, but because you can't verify what you're actually buying. That's a dealbreaker if network quality matters to you, and completely irrelevant if you're only in Tokyo.
The takeaway
Picking the best eSIM for Japan comes down to network, not price. The price spread between providers is a few euros. The network difference decides whether your phone finds anything at all in a valley in Tohoku. The order in which most comparisons treat those two things strikes me as backwards.
Check two things before you book: which Japanese networks are inside the product, and whether your phone does Band 19. Everything else is fine-tuning.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which eSIM is best for Japan?
It depends on your route, not the price. For city trips almost any plan works, since all four Japanese networks are densely built out in the metros. Once you head rural or into the mountains, a product that includes NTT docomo makes sense. docomo won Opensignal's Coverage Experience award in April 2026 with a score of 9.1/10.
Which network does each eSIM provider use in Japan?
eSIM FOX states docomo and SoftBank on its own product page, and Ubigi works off docomo with au as a second network. Airalo, Holafly and Nomad run on au and SoftBank according to available reporting, while aloSIM uses au alone. Saily's public sources contradict each other, and Yesim never names its carrier. The full table with evidence tiers sits earlier in this article.
Does an eSIM work in rural Japan and in the mountains?
Generally yes, though quality depends on the network behind it. 4G availability sits above 97% on all four Japanese carriers, yet geographic coverage still differs a lot between them. docomo holds the documented advantage there. In tunnels, narrow valleys and on the Shinkansen, the connection will drop occasionally on any provider.
Do I need an eSIM, a local SIM or pocket wifi?
For most travellers the eSIM is simplest: install before departure, active after landing, nothing to collect and return. Pocket wifi earns its keep when four of you travel together and want to share one device. A local physical SIM is really only necessary if you need a Japanese phone number.
Do I get a Japanese phone number with an eSIM?
Not with the usual travel eSIMs. They are data-only plans without a number, without SMS and without calls over the mobile network. Maps, messaging, translation and payment QR codes all work fine. You'd want a Japanese number for phone reservations, some delivery services and the occasional SMS verification from Japanese providers.
Will my phone even work on Japanese networks?
Two conditions: the device has to be eSIM capable and carrier unlocked, and it should support the Japanese low bands. docomo leans on Band 19 (800 MHz) in rural areas, au on Band 18/26. Current iPhones and major Android models are usually fine, regional mid-range variants less reliably so. Look up your model number and its supported LTE bands before booking.
Sources
- preliminary JNTO data reported by Nippon.com nippon.com
- Opensignal's April 2026 Japan report insights.opensignal.com
- TelecomLead in December 2025 telecomlead.com
- TelecomLead's Japan Telecom Market 2025 analysis telecomlead.com
- its own product page esimfox.com
- carrier band references frequencycheck.com